The Daily 15

The challenge: Take 15 minutes every day, preferably at the same time, and do something creative without consequence.
Write something you hadn’t written before.
Draw something you hadn’t drawn before.
Sing something that’s never been sung.
Don’t do it with the hopes of creating a project out of it. Just do it for the moment. Do it because it pleases you, not in the hopes that it will please others.
Fill those minutes with whatever you want. Use every last second. Do it without worry of what happened before or will happen after. Once those 15 minutes are up, stop. Put it away. Tomorrow, come back and do something different.
These are 15 minutes carved out just for you. It’s your adult play time. Go play.

Of course, I’m talking to myself. This idea comes from a book about living a creative life. This is Step 1. I’ve got to find out what I really want to do with my 15 minutes. I fear that I’m going to be tempted to turn what I make into a project, thus making it more work than fun. I’ll try a few different things and give them each a week and see what works. I’ll probably start with creative writing. It’ll probably be crap starting out, but that’s not supposed to matter. Can I fight through that need to only make good stuff?
This is change. This is what I need.

Leave a Reply

